Ashmore Group Board of Directors

David Bennett

Non-executive Chairman

David Bennett was appointed to the Board in October 2014. He was a Director of Alliance and Leicester plc between 2001 and 2008 serving as Group Finance Director and then Group Chief Executive until its sale to Santander in 2008. He has also held a number of executive positions in Abbey National plc, Cheltenham & Gloucester plc, Lloyds TSB Group and the National Bank of New Zealand. David is currently Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of CYBG plc, Chairman of various Together group companies, and a Non-executive Director of PayPal (Europe) SARL et Cie, S.C.A. He has also served as a Non-executive Director of easyJet plc between 2005 and 2014. David holds an MA in Economics from Cambridge University.

Committee membership: Nominations, Remuneration

Mark Coombs

Chief Executive Officer

Mark Coombs was appointed a Director on the incorporation of the Company in December 1998, and has served as its Chief Executive Officer since then. He held a number of positions at Australia and New Zealand Banking Group (ANZ) and led Ashmore's buyout from ANZ in early 1999. He is Co-Chair of EMTA, the trade association for Emerging Markets, having been on the Board since 1993. Mark has an MA in Law from Cambridge University.

Tom Shippey

Group Finance Director

Tom Shippey was appointed to the Board as Group Finance Director in November 2013. Prior to joining Ashmore in 2007, Tom worked for UBS Investment Bank, including advising on the Ashmore IPO in 2006. Tom qualified as a Chartered Accountant with PricewaterhouseCoopers in 1999 and is a Fellow of the ICAEW. He has a BSc in International Business and German from Aston University.

Dame Anne Pringle DCMG

Non-executive Director

Anne Pringle joined the Board in February 2013. She was a diplomat with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office for over 30 years, focusing in particular on the EU, Russia and Eastern Europe. Between 2001 and 2004, Anne was the British Ambassador to the Czech Republic and from 2004 to 2007, Director of Strategy and Information at the FCO and a member of the FCO Board. From 2008 to 2011, she served as Ambassador to the Russian Federation. Anne is the Senior Governor on the Board of St Andrew's University and a trustee on the Board of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre.

Committee memberships: Audit and Risk, Nominations, Remuneration

Clive Adamson

Senior Independent Director

Clive Adamson was appointed to the Board in October 2015. He was Head of Supervision and an Executive Director of the  Board of the Financial Conduct Authority until January 2015, and prior to that he held a number of senior roles within its predecessor, the Financial Services Authority. Between 1998 and 2000 he was a Senior Advisor in Banking Supervision at the Bank of England. Clive is currently the Non-executive Chairman of JP Morgan International Bank Limited, Non-executive Director and Chairman of the Board Risk & Capital Committee of The Prudential Assurance Company Limited and Non-executive Director and Chair of the Board Risk Committee of CYBG plc. Clive is a Senior Advisor to McKinsey & Co. He holds an MA in Economics from Cambridge University.

Committee memberships: Audit and Risk, Nominations, Remuneration

Jennifer Bingham

Non-executive Director

Jennifer Bingham was appointed to the Board in June 2018. She is an accountant and between 1992 and 2003 she was a senior executive of Brunswick Capital Management Limited, an investment manager specialising in the Russian equity market. During this period she variously held the offices of Chief Executive, Chief Operating and Chief Financial Officer of the firm. Since 2003, Mrs Bingham has held finance, administration and investment oversight roles with investment company PCHB Limited (part of the Cundill group of companies) and as Trustee and Chair of the Peter Cundill Foundation.

Committee memberships: Audit and Risk, Nominations, Remuneration